Your donations hard at work

Posted by on Feb 1, 2012 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

The Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation partnered with the Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO in 2011 through funding both the Young Investigator Award in Cholangiocarcinoma Research and the Long Term International Fellowship (LIFe) Award.

The Young Investigator Award was a one-year $50,000 grant given to a promising investigator conducting research in cholangiocarcinoma (bile duct cancer). Awarded by the Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (formerly known as The ASCO Cancer Foundation), the grant is intended to raise awareness and trigger progress against this rare disease, while providing critical funding for physician-scientists at the beginning of their careers. Providing early-career grants helps encourage investigators to focus their careers on cholangiocarcinoma.  The Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection Committee determined the recipient by evaluating the scientific merit and potential career-development impact of the Young Investigator Award applications using a two-part peer-review process. Learn more about the Grant Recipient later this month.

Dr. Suebpong Tanasanvimon was the recipient of the Long Term International Fellowship (LIFe) Award.

Dr. Tanasanvimon is a researcher from Thailand, a country that has the highest rate of cholangiocarcinoma in the world.  Dr. Tanasanvimon practices medicine at Chulalongkorn University.  As part of the LIFe Award, Dr. Tanasanvimon has been performing research at MD Anderson Cancer Center under the mentorship of Dr. Milind Javle, MD. The $60,000 grant is used to solely fund research in cholangiocarcinoma.  The funds are provided by The Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation in cooperation with the Conquer Cancer Foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>