Issue 1: July 2017

Our Mission
The ICRN is a global collaboration of research groups from renowned institutions that are working in concert to improve knowledge about cholangiocarcinoma etiology, prevention, early detection, treatment and prognosis. The network is comprised of highly talented individuals from a spectrum of disciplines, perspectives, and research methods who share the passion to make significant scientific advances that improve outcomes for patients with cholangiocarcinoma.

ICRN Executive Committee
Chair: Milind Javle, MD
Gastrointestinal Medical Oncology Department
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. John Bridgewater, MRCP, PhD
Medical Oncology Department
University College London Hospitals

Yun Shin Chun, MD, FACS
Surgical Oncology Department
MD Anderson Cancer Center  

Laura Goff, MD
Hematology/Oncology Department
Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center  

Lipika Goyal, MD
Hematology/Oncology Department
Massachusetts General Hospital
Vice-Chair: Mitesh Borad, MD
Medical Oncology Department
Mayo Clinic  

Stacie Lindsey
President and Founder,
Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation

Flavio G. Rocha, MD, FACS Hepatopancreatobiliary Service
Virginia Mason Medical Center  

Lewis Roberts, MB, ChB, PhD
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Department of Internal Medicine, Mayo Clinic  

Virote Sriuranpong, MD, PhD
Medical Oncology Department
Chulalongkorn University

Reham Abdel-Wahab, MD, PhD
ICRN Associate Program Director

Donna Mayer
ICRN Program Director

ICRN Participating Centers

U.S. Centers
  • Emory University
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Massachusetts General Hospital 
  • Mayo Clinic
  • MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
  • University California San Francisco
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Utah
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Virginia Mason Medical Center
International Centers
  • University of Calgary [Canada]
  • University of Amsterdam [Netherlands]
  • University College London Hospital [UK]
  • Siriraj Hospital [Thailand]
  • Chulalongkorn University [Thailand]
  • Kaoshsiung Medicine University [Taiwan]

ICRN Working Groups
We are delighted to create the following working groups to better coordinate our research efforts. We welcome all interested members to join.
  • Leadership: Dr. Milind Javle and Dr. Mitesh Borad will provide overall direction of the ICRN including clinical trials, Industry Night, Asia-Pacific Conference, and publications.
  • Surgical: Dr. Yun Shin Chun and Dr. Flavio Rocha will be spearheading efforts in surgical translational research.
  • Clinical Research: Dr. Laura Goff will lead clinical data sharing for collaborative research.
  • Genomic Research: Dr. Lipika Goyal will lead genomic research initiatives.
  • International collaboration: Dr. John Bridgewater and Dr. Virote Sriuranpong will be responsible for recruiting Asian, European and other international centers for future collaborative research.
  • Biorepository: Dr. Lewis Roberts and Dr. Milind Javle will coordinate the ICRN tissue and blood banking repository.
  • Administration: Dr. Reham Abdel-Wahab and Donna Mayer will be responsible for oversight of budgets, grants, meetings, ICRN website and newsletters.
We welcome your participation in the Working Groups of your choice.
Email Dr. Reham Abdel-Wahab at for more information.

First Asia-Pacific Conference
The first Asia-Pacific conference was held on March 17-18, 2017 in Bangkok, Thailand at King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital. More than 300 professionals from medical and scientific communities around the world attended the event to share expertise and best practices in the field of cholangiocarcinoma. Sponsors included the Faculty of Medicine Chulalongkorn University, Thai Society of Clinical Oncology, Red Cross, Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation, Mayo Clinic, MD Anderson and the Cholangiocarcinoma Screening and Care Program of Thailand.

Save the Date
Second Asia-Pacific Congress

March 23-24, 2018
Siriraj University Hospital, Bangkok

We welcome your participation for this important meeting that will be chaired by Mitesh Borad (Mayo Clinic)
and Vitoon Chinswangwatanakul (Siriraj Hospital, Thailand)

©2006-2017 All Rights Reserved, The Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation
5526 West 13400 South, #510, Salt Lake City, Utah 84096, U.S.A.
(888) 936-6731